the inner machinations of my mind are an enigma...

Padawan Sabine, Or: Man, are the Writers Glad Kanan is Dead.

This entry was written as of the release of the 4th episode of Ahsoka. I hardly consider myself a Star Wars fan, I only care about the crew of The Ghost, but this is important to me.

I have mixed emotions on Sabine's force-sensitivity. I understand how her low-aptitude with the Force flew under the radars of the Jedi before her, but I don't like it, nor do I like the way it was handled. As of the writing of this entry, the series almost seems to be a love-letter to Rebels, but with baffling dialogue choices. I've chosen to disregard Hera's line about the Sith(?) master and apprentice in the first episode, and instead focus on Sabine's reply to Ahsoka when faced with a visorless mask in the 3rd episode. "I can't see- how am I supposed to fight?" This line makes zero since if you've watched Rebels seeing as, for the 3rd and 4th season, her friend and crewmate Jedi Knight Kanan Jarrus was completely blind; Not only does Sabine know he was blind, she had sparred against him and seen him on missions.

This is just one example of the strange cherry-picking the writers do with Kanan's attributions and presence. They are happy to make references to him, such as with the haircutting scene, but drop other aspects seemingly at random.

In the 4+ years Kanan spent living with Sabine Wren aboard The Ghost, surely he would've noticed something within her. This seems to be excused with Sabine's incompetence with the Force, her natural talent being so low it went under Kanan's radar, but I'm not satisfied with that. I could theorize about Sabine passing or failing the Holocron test Kanan gave Ezra, but that wouldn't get us anywhere. It may be too early in the series to cast judgement, but I don't think the writers intended for fans to be so baffled they get angry. I think the writers are glad Kanan is dead, so no one has to answer these questions.

Sabine still has a strong focus on family, asking Ahsoka about loved ones and prioritizing helping Huyang over fixing her under-fire ship, (Even in her solitude living in Ezra's old tower, she has a loth-cat to keep her company.) but seems to forget Kanan when it's plot-convenient for new viewers. I find it so weird that the writers pick and choose an instrumental character's influence like that, just so we can have the same 40+ year old tradition of training sequences.

I believe that this is an effort to keep the series open to fans who never watched Rebels. Kanan's influence would be too complicated to explain in the short amount of time the series has, and too expensive with the current strike. This method of just dropping information on viewers and expecting it to go down easy will work with people who didn't watch Rebels, but it won't work as easily with people who have. This is no disrespect to people who haven't watched Rebels, its criticisms are completely understandable and I see why people wouldn't have interest, but the writing approach of dropping a primary character to keep the series accessible is something I wasn't expecting, nor am I happy with.

12-13/09/2023

2023 @rubedometa

There's nothing here! [for now]

This section of my page is for somewhat longwinded ramblings about myself or things that I have thoughts on.

31/07/2023

2023 @rubedometa

visit my friends

Lord Horse Domain

the bones of this site were grown by [this wonderful person]